One bag is all I need, what about you?

My story

I moved to the United Kingdom six years ago. Initially, I was visiting my friend and didn’t plan to stay longer than two months. Nothing is more permanent than something temporary, they say. When I came I had only one small backpack with me. Thanks to Ryanair luggage restrictions.

From luggage restrictions to a way of living

Many people take only one piece of luggage to avoid extra fees, which could sum up, in some cases, to more than the ticket cost. Initially, I was one of those people wanting to avoid extra charges. With time, however, I came to realise just how great it is moving with one small bag. We were living in Wales at the time and the journey from Aberystwyth to London took 5 hours by train, with a train change in Birmingham plus a transfer to any of the London airports.

luggage-1081872_1920
“The consumption society has made us feel that happiness lies in having things, and has failed to teach us the happiness of not having things.”Elise Boulding, 1920.

 

Leave a Reply

